Search the Site

Contact City Hall


Popular Council Links

Popular Links



City Council is comprised of seven (7) members. There are no wards in our city and all Council Members serve at large for a term of four (4) years. Term limits prevent members from serving for longer than three (3) successive four (4) year terms.  Council Members are assigned to various subcommittees including the Board of Zoning Appeals, Building Committee, Chagrin River Watershed, Euclid Creek Watershed, Finance Committee, Legislative Committee, Mayfield Union Cemetery, Parks & Recreation Commission, Planning Commission, Public Works and Services Committee, and Safety and Transportation Committee.


City Council is the legislative branch of our city government. It carries out duties in accordance with the City Charter and the laws of the State of Ohio, and is primarily responsible for adopting laws that govern the City of Mayfield. City Council proposes, debates, and votes on legislation governing and/or affecting the city. This body also regulates revenues and expenditures, sets the salary or compensation of officers, employees, and board/commission members, and approves the final budget for the city.  Council is responsible for the introduction of legislation generated by the administrative branch of city government.  Council may also introduce legislation generated by individual Council Members or Council as a whole. Legislative action of the Council is by ordinance or resolution.